The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games  book coverI went to the midnight premier of the Hunger Games and I have to say, I really enjoyed it.

For those of you that haven’t read or seen it, goodreads.com describes the story as follows:

“In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.”The Hunger Games movie poster

I read the series of novels before I saw the film so I was a little skeptical going into it. In my experience, books are always better than the movies. Though, I would still say that in this case, the movie definitely stands on its own. The director of the film, Gary Ross, choose an amazing cast. Those I thought were of note included Stanley Tucci as Cesar Flickerman, Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark, Lenny Kravitz as Cinna and Woody Harrelson as Haymitch Abernathy. However, Jennifer Lawrence, who played Ka.tniss Everdeen, was by far my favorite actor in the film. A lot of character development from the book had to be left out of the film but Lawrence was able to convey so much of Katniss’ character through her eyes and actions.

The Hunger Games cast

The Hunger Games cast

I completely agree with “Jimmy’s Sweet Blog” when he says, “The emotion and spirit of the books is what shined the most.  It was obvious that Gary Ross gets it.  The handheld camera technique really captured the way Katniss was feeling:  overwhelmed by everything, fighting for survival.  Also since we weren’t in Katniss’ head, some other scenes were added to clarify those things that were merely implied in the book.”

I’ve heard many reviews of people saying they were disappointed with the movie, and these reviews usually come froKatniss Three-Finger Kissm people who had already read the book. Although I was disappointed with some of the parts of the book the film left out, it isn’t possible to fit everything in to a two and a half hour movie.

Like Jimmy said, the film captured the spirit of the book, which is what’s most important to me. The fear, anger and confusion displayed in the book was brought to the screen. On the other hand, some of the things left out, I think, make it more difficult for anyone who hasn’t read the book to understand the movie at parts. For instance, when the three-finger kiss is shown in the movie, there is no explanation of it being the “kiss of death” and the implication it has.

I also agree with “Books: The cheapest vacation you can buy” when she says “Two major issues I had with the movie were that Rue wasn’t present enough and the cave scene was shaved down too much. These are two extremely important episodes within the novel, and they really needed to be played up more because many of the events rely on them, and I expected them to be a huge portion.”

Overall, though parts of the book were left out, I think the film did a great job and I am definitely looking forward to the next one. I would absolutely recommend seeing the film and reading the book. You just may want to see the movie first.

4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Alexa Krynicki says:

    I was so excited to see this movie, and loved every minute of it. The movie reminded me of George Orwell’s “1984”, one of the books that I actually read in high school. I did not get to actually read “The Hunger Games”, yet, but I definitely will this summer. I am looking forward to divulging deeper into the world of “The Hunger Games”.

    I agree that Jennifer Lawrence played her role very well and can not wait for the second movie. I wish they went into more depth about what the three fingers stood for, but I except them to be saving that explanation for the next one. I was sad when the “Harry Potter” series ended, but I think “Hunger Games” will be able to fill the void.

  2. I love this movie! I’ve watched a Japanese movie which is quite similar with this. But this is way better! The hunger games includes some social problems in it, such as the news and information is moving to seek more money and audience.
    Also, the actress did a great job.

  3. Lauren King says:

    I have not seen the movie nor read the book, but I have had an experience with reading a book before I see the movie. And I understand why people get disappointed because some things are left out. You hit it right on the head when you said ” You can’t fit everything in an two in a half hour movie. None the less being that I have not seen nor read the book you did not give too much away, about what to expect. After all there isn’t anything wrong with a little suspense.

  4. Halle Kirsh says:

    I enjoyed reading this blog. I went through and read a bunch of posts because the first one about the Hunger Games really intrigued me. I have not read the books but this post was the last push I think I needed to make up my mind about them. My friends have been raving about them, and especially Jennifer Lawrence’s character. As I continued reading about her perception of PR in movies and I could not agree more. Paranormal Activity was the first one I thought of, I recall that being promoted all over Facebook and Twitter.
    As far as the post about Twilight, I had the exact same reaction to the movie after reading the books. I have so many similar interests and opinions I think I am going to continue to read this blog.

Leave a Reply

